Blown — a poem

Giulietta M Spudich
1 min readMar 10, 2024

I’m highlighting stories and poems by young writers on this blog. Here is ‘Blown’ by Amani. I love this poem evoking the wind of change. It seemed fitting to post this in March, as the season moves into the changeable Spring Equinox (in the Northern Hemisphere).

Image from Freerangestock by comfreak

‘Blown’ by Amani

A gust of wind blows your hair, whipping it in front of your eyes

Inhibiting your vision, closing your view of the world.

Let the wind whisk you away.

Let it scatter seize and tear.

Allow it to ostracise, oust and outcast you.

Keep the wind busy until it dies to stillness and silence.

About the author: My name is Amani. I’m thirteen years old and I love to write. Short stories, long stories, poems, whatever. I also love to read books. I aim for the impossible, to read them all. I live with my mum, dad, sister Beatrice, a cat and pet guinea pigs, Rene and Bruno.

--

--

Giulietta M Spudich

I am a children’s author and young writers' workshop leader. Give me a young/teen fantasy novel and a cup of coffee. Magic. www.elementgirls.org